Monday June 01, 2015

Last update07:13:55 AM PST


March 30, 2014

COPPER MOUNTAIN, CO – Twenty-five Silver Anniversary National Champions were crowned Sunday in five disciplines on the first day of competition for the United States of America Snowboard Association (USASA).  The top three competitors in each age group were presented with special 25th Anniversary medal and were also given prize packages from Anon and SkullCandy in the Awards Ceremony held in Burning Stone Plaza. 

Group 1 is made up of Open Class Men and Women and they tackled Copper Mountain’s Slopestyle course.  Benny Milan from Chicago City, MN and the Upper Midwest ALT Series was one of the competitors and he expressed his satisfaction with the course, “The jumps are good and the rails are good.”

Peter Brichta from Burnsville, MN, representing the Upper Midwest ALT Series was the gold medal winner of the Open Class Men with a score of 85.00 points.  Silver went to Asher Humphreys from Breckenridge with a score of 82.17 and the bronze went to Frisco, Colorado’s Quintin Jones, 77.67.  Humphreys and Jones ride with the Rocky Mountain Series.

Taking the gold medal in the Open Class Women was Julianne O’Neill of Silverthorne, CO.  The South Tahoe Series competitor posted a score of 79.50.  Bondville, Vermont’s Serena Shaw (2013-14 Team USASA Member) claimed the silver with a score of 70.67.  She rides with the Southern Vermont Series.  Wrapping up the top three was bronze medalist Danika Duffy from Manhattan Beach, CA.  The rider from The Unbound Series posted a 68.67.

The qualified Open Class Men and Women move to Slalom on Monday.

Group 2 consists of the Menehune Girls (10-11), Breaker Girls (12-13), Youth Women (14-15), Junior Women (16-17) and Jams Women (18-22).  The ladies tackled Copper Mountain’s 22’ high Superpipe.

Kinsley White of Santa Clara, CA and The Unbound Series claimed the gold for the Menehune Girls  with a run that scored 80.67 points.  Fellow Unbound Series rider, Tessa Maud from Carlsbad, CA posted 72.33 points for the silver medal.  The Bronze went to Aviela Berk-Silverman from the New Hampshire Series and Brookline, MA. Her score was 69.00 points.

The Breaker Girls class was won by Hailey Langland from San Clemente, CA.  The North Tahoe Series rider earned 92.33 points for the gold medal.  Big Mountain West rider, Clara Jenner from Ketchum ID was close behind with 90.33 points for the silver.  Rounding out the top three was Sparta, New Jersey’s Anna Valentine who rides for the Southern Vermont Series.  Her score was 83.67.

Hannah Merson of Stowe, VT claimed gold in the Youth Women with a score of 80.00.  She rides for the Southern Vermont Series.  Big Mountain West rider, Cora Kaiser from Ketchum ID posted 77.00 points to earn the silver medal.  Steamboat Springs, Colorado’s Savanna Atkins, claimed the bronze with a score of 73.67.  She rides with the Rocky Mountain Series.

Claiming the gold medal for the Junior Women was Shannon Branthoover from Greensburg, PA.  Branthoover, who rides with the Appalachian Series posted 84.67 points.  Finishing in second for the silver was Tyler Inn from The Unbound Series.  Inn, of Marina Del Rey, CA scored 59.00 points.  Third place and the bronze went to Taylor Obregon from Minnetonka, MN.  The Upper Midwest ALT competitor earned 57.00 points.

Rocky Mountain Series rider, Moe Sweet of Golden, CO posted the highest score in the Jams Women class for the gold medal.  Del Mar, CA competitor, Sierra Casper of The Unbound Series was the silver medalist while Stephanie Nelb from Basking Ridge, NJ who rides with the Southern Vermont Series captured the bronze.

The five classes in Group 2 move to Boardercross on Monday.

Group 3 had 11 classes tackle the Giant Slalom course on opening day and the group included the largest age span from the boys and girls Ruggies (7 & under) to the mens and womens Methuselah (60+) class.

The Ruggie gold medalists were Mason Hamel (ME Mountain) for the boys and for the girls, Drew Moryn (Upper Midwest ALT).  Silver medals went to Cooper Provencher (Northern VT) and Pippa Scott (New Hampshire).  Rounding out the top three finishers for the bronze medal were Tommy Okesson  and Annie Gabriele, both from Southern VT.

Gold medalists in the Grommet were, for the boys, Tyler Hamel from Franklin, NH (ME Mountain) and Alexandria Simovits of Calabasas, CA (The Unbound).  Mebane, NC rider, Fynn Bullock (Rocky Mountain) and Livvie Jennings of Darien, CT (Southern VT) were the silver medalists.  Claiming the bronze were Jake Langston of Mammoth Lakes, CA (The Unbound) and Parker, CO competitor, Mandy Fleetwood (Rocky Mountain).

The Master Class consists of riders age 30-39.  Taking the women’s gold medal was Hillary Bond from the Mid-Atlantic Series.  Southern Vermont’s Amy Herrmann took home the silver and Claudia Luebbert of the Huck Finn Series garnered the bronze. 

Claiming National Championship title in the Legend division (40-49) were Rocky Mountain snowboarders,  Karla Whitacre and Kevin Eisenman.  The silver medals went to Amy Herrmann (Southern VT) and Jeff Pollock (Big Mountain West).  Claiming the bronze medals were Wesley Dew (South Tahoe) for the women and Joe Landa (Appalachian) for the men.

The Kahuna Men (50-59) top three were Mark Hogan (Aspen/Snowmass Series), Brent Alderman (Midwest Best) and David Paulger (New Hampshire).  The women’s top finishers were Anne Wiper (Rocky Mountain Series), Terry Keough (ME Mountain) and Diane Wightman (Rocky Mountain).

The Methuselah class is for competitors aged 60 and over.  The gold medal for the men went to Arne Carlson (Rocky Mountain), O. Dennis Mullen (Inland Northwest) earned the silver and Dick Schulze (South Tahoe) claimed the bronze.  For the women, Chris Bodie (Snow Ohio) was victorious and earned the golf medal.  Jane Gilbert-Howard (Upper Midwest ALT) took home the silver.

The 11 divisions that make up Group 3 move to the Slopestyle course on Monday.

Group 4 is comprised of the Menehune Boys (10-11), Breaker Boys (12-13), Senior Men (23-29) and Master Men (30-39) and they tackled the Slalom course.

The Menehune Boys class is a sizeable group and after the two runs down the course, the fastest run was turned in by Shred Chanod of the Mid-Atlantic Series for the gold.  The New Hampshire Series’ Shea Donovan was the silver medalist and Ben Heldman from the Western New York Series was third fastest for the bronze.

The Breaker Boys is another of the larger groups at the USASA National Championships and the competition was fierce.  The gold went to Jacob McCarthy of the Upper Midwest ALT Series.  Cody Winters who rides with the Rocky Mountain Series claimed the silver and another Upper Midwest ALT competitor, Will Taylor earned the bronze.

The Senior Men’s gold medalist was Melvin Diaz from the Appalachian Series.

Earning the top spot for the Master Men  and the gold medal was Scott Sombers (Rocky Mountain Series). The Snow Ohio Series’ Doug Radefeld earned the silver and Filippo Marchino (Southern California) claimed the bronze.

The competitors in Group 4 head to the Halfpipe for the second day of competition.

Group 5, which is comprised of the Youth Men (14-15), Junior Men (16-17) and Jams Men (18-22) competed on the Boardercross course on the first day of the USASA  National Championships.  The certified results were not available at the time of publication.  Results will be found on the USASA website – – as soon as they are verified.

2013-14 Team USASA's youngest member Hannah Merson of Stowe, VT during her National Championship Gold Medal showing at the 25th Anniversary of the USASA National Championships at Copper Mountain, March 30, 2014. Photo: Jennifer Langille / USASA Staff



You are here: Home